IOC Session takes decisions on membership

During today’s proceedings, the Session of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) elected one Vice-President, re-elected two members of the IOC Executive Board (EB) and elected one EB member. Following the recommendations made by the EB in June 2021, the Session also re-elected five Members, changed the status of one Member, and elected two Honorary Members.

IOC Executive Board

Ms Nicole Hoevertsz (IOC Member in Aruba) was elected by the IOC Session as Vice-President of the IOC; Dr Robin E. Mitchell (IOC Member in Fiji) and Mr Denis Oswald (IOC Member in Switzerland) were re-elected as IOC EB members; and Mrs Kristin Kloster (IOC Member in Norway) was newly elected to the Board.

Change of status

The 138th IOC Session approved the change of status proposed by the IOC EB for Ms Kirsty Coventry, IOC Member in Zimbabwe and currently Chair of the IOC Athletes’ Commission, from Active Athlete (membership linked to her function as an active athlete) to Independent Individual IOC Member. Her term as a member of the IOC Athletes’ Commission is set to end with the closing of the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020.


The following five IOC Members, who arrived at the end of their terms, were re-elected by the IOC Session for another eight-year term or until they have reached the age limit within these eight years:

  • Mr Octavian Morariu
  • Mr Bernard Rajzman
  • Mrs Mikaela Cojuangco Jaworski
  • Mr Paul K. Tergat
  • Mrs Dagmawit Girmay Berhane

The terms of office start at the end of the IOC Session in which the elections take place. This coincides with the closing of the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020.

Honorary Members

The EB Session also elected as Honorary Members Sir Craig Reedie, who has reached the age limit, and HRH Crown Prince Frederik of Denmark, following his resignation as an IOC Member. Sir Craig will become an Honorary Member on 1 January 2022, HRH Crown Prince Frederik at the end of this Session.